Choose a subject

In Reception, children learn through exploring and being active, as much of the learning in the EYFS is child-initiated. Westbridge Academy follows the national Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework, which has 7 main areas of development.

The Prime Areas are:
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four furthers Specific Areas.

These Specific Areas are:
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Teachers carefully plan activities to suit the needs of individual learners. At Westbridge, children have access to a range of activities, both inside and outside the classroom, that support their progress through the Early Learning Goals.

Our pupils in Reception are given a firm foundation to begin the next stage of their education in Year 1.